Home Kids Articles of the Constitution

Articles of the Constitution

Articles of the Constitution

Understanding the Articles of the United States Constitution

The United States Constitution is the supreme law of the United States. The Constitution is made of the Preamble and seven different articles. Together, these articles are the foundation for how the United States government is organized. The Articles of the Constitution also explain how the federal government interacts with the citizens, states, and people of the country.

Who Wrote the Articles of the Constitution?

The Constitution and all of its Articles were written in 1787. Between May 1787 and September 1787, the group of men now known as the Framers met to talk about what should be included in the Articles of the United States Constitution. Because the current government under the Articles of Confederation did not work well, the framers hoped to create a better government. There were 55 Framers of the United States Constitution, included George Washington, James Madison, Ben Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, and more. The Framers had many arguments and debates about what should be included in the Articles. They also made many speeches. After a lot of talking, they finally decided on all the details of the Constitution.

When Were the Articles of the Constitution Ratified?

The Constitution had to be ratified by at least nine states in order to become the law of the land. After two and a half years, all 13 states agreed to ratify the Articles of the Constitution. The Constitution and its Articles were adopted into the United States on September 17, 1787, during the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia.

What are the Articles of Articles of The Constitution?

Together, the articles of the constitution work to establish the branches of the federal government and describe what powers they have.

Article 1 of the Constitution

Article 1 gives Congress its powers and limits. Congress is the branch of the government who can make laws for the country. Article 1 also creates the two sections of Congress, the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Article 2 of the Constitution

Article 2 of the Constitution makes the executive branch of the government. The Executive branch has the responsibility and authority for the administration on a daily basis. In the United States, the executive branch is made up of the President and executive officers.

Article 3 of the Constitution

Article 3 of the Constitution creates a judicial branch in the United States. The Judicial branch is the court system that interprets the law. In the United States, the judicial branch includes the Supreme Court and the lower courts which are made by Congress.

Article 4 of the Constitution

Article 4 of the Constitution talks about the states. Article 4 talks about what responsibilities and duties the states have along with what responsibilities the federal government has to each state.

Article 5 of the Constitution

Article 5 says that the only way the Constitution can be changed is by adding an amendment.

Article 6 of the Constitution

Article 6 says that any debts or engagements that the country had before adopting the Constitution are still valid. Article 6 also says that the Constitution is the highest law and that all officers and judges have to uphold the Constitution.

Article 7 of the Constitution

Article 7 of the U.S. Constitution is the final article of the Constitution. This article explains how many states need to ratify the Constitution.



Previous articleNear v. Minnesota
Next articleThird Amendment